A listing of Maine’s continuing education requirements for veterinarians and veterinary technicians.
Click here to directly enroll in a course meeting Maine Opioid Requirements.
HOURLY REQUIREMENTS FOR VETERINARIANS
24 hours every 2 years
24 hours may be obtained online
HOURLY REQUIREMENTS FOR VETERINARY TECHNICIANS
SPECIFIC REQUIRED COURSES
A maximum of 6 contact hours may be earned through attendance of seminars in practice management and other non-clinical subjects relating to the practice of veterinary medicine.
Opioid Prescribing – A veterinarian who prescribes opioid medication must successfully complete 1 HOUR of continuing education every 2 years on the prescription of opioid medication as a condition of prescribing opioid medication. https://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/veterinarians/pub/2016/notice_to_licensed_veterinarians_10_14_2016.pdf
Statute – https://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/veterinarians/laws.html
AVAILABLE DRIP.VET COURSES
Information current as of: February 3, 2021