Tennessee CE REQUIREMENTS

A listing of Tennessee’s continuing education requirements for veterinarians and veterinary technicians.

HOURLY REQUIREMENTS FOR VETERINARIANS

36 hours every 2 years

36 hours may be obtained online

 

HOURLY REQUIREMENTS FOR VETERINARY TECHNICIANS

20 hours every 2 years

4 hours may be obtained online

SPECIFIC REQUIRED COURSES

(a)…Fifteen (15) hours must pertain to the medical and surgical care of animals. Five (5) hours may pertain to a special interest in veterinary medicine in fields other than the medical and surgical care of animals, including but not limited to practice management and state and federal regulatory programs. A maximum of ten (10) hours may be obtained in a multi-media format as defined in part (3)(d)2 of this rule.

(b) For every two-year period, two (2) of the required hours must pertain to regulatory issues, controlled substances, or professional ethics.

(c) A licensee is exempt from continuing education requirements during the calendar year of the licensee’s graduation from an approved school or college of veterinary medicine.

(d) The Board approves courses for only the number of hours contained in the course. A licensee will not receive credit for repeating the same course in a calendar year.

Link to Section 1730-01-.12 – CONTINUING EDUCATION

Statute – Veterinarians – https://www.vmb.ca.gov/laws_regs/article9.pdf,

Veterinary Technicians https://www.vmb.ca.gov/laws_regs/rvt_order.pdf

AVAILABLE DRIP.VET COURSES

 

Endocrine 411 (6.5 Hours)

Medical Record Keeping (6 Hours)

Opioid 411 (1-3 Hours)

 

All of our courses are RACE approved by the American Association of Veterinary State Boards.

Information current as of: February 3, 2020