fbpx

TEXAS CE REQUIREMENTS

A listing of Texas’ continuing education requirements for veterinarians and veterinary technicians.

Click here to directly enroll in a course meeting Texas Opioid Requirements.

HOURLY REQUIREMENTS FOR VETERINARIANS

17 hours every 1 year

 5 hours may be obtained online

 

HOURLY REQUIREMENTS FOR VETERINARY TECHNICIANS

10 hours every 1 year

 4 hours may be obtained online

SPECIFIC REQUIRED COURSES

Veterinarians – Of the required 17 hours of continuing education for veterinary licensees, no more than 5 hours may be derived from practice management courses.

 

Veterinary Technicians – Of the required 10 hours, no more than 2 hours of continuing education for licensed veterinary technicians may be derived from practice management. 

 

Opioid Prescribing – The board shall require a veterinarian to complete 2 HOURS of continuing education related to opioid abuse and controlled substance diversion, inventory, and security every 2 years to renew a license to practice veterinary medicine. https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/86R/billtext/html/SB01947F.htm

 

Statute – https://www.veterinary.texas.gov/documents/rules/FULL_SET_as_of_2019V2.pdf

 

 

AVAILABLE DRIP.VET COURSES

Endocrine 411 (6.5 Hours)
 

Opioid 411 (2 Hours)

Our Texas Opioid 411 instructional course is Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners and RACE approved for a total of 2 hours of continuing education covering opioid prescribing by veterinarians in precise detail. It has been designed for Texas veterinarians to fulfill the state mandated continuing education requirements on this topic. This course provides students with a broad range of expert-level knowledge on subjects including DEA laws and regulations, identifying and stopping misuse, and more.  

 

All of our courses are RACE approved by the American Association of Veterinary State Boards.

Information current as of: February 3, 2020